Latest News from Sul Ross April 22, 2014


    Ryan Hoffer, El Paso; and Sadie Sacra, Needville, were named the 2014 Sul Ross State University Man and Woman of the Year at the annual Honors Convocation, held Monday (April 21) in Marshall Auditorium.
    Both Hoffer and Sacra have combined academic excellence with extra-curricular activities, community service and volunteer work.
    Hoffer has been a member of the Student Government Association since Spring Semester 2012. He has participated in the Honors Program and been named to the Dean’s list for most semesters while pursuing his degree. He was inducted to the Psi Chi Honor Society and has been named to Who’s Who in American Universities and Colleges.  
    In addition to his academic work he has been a member of the Sul Ross track team, competing as a shot put and discus thrower. On campus, he has provided assistance to new students as a Lobo Pack leader and has served on numerous student committees. Hoffer, who will graduate in May with a degree in psychology, is also a member of the Alpine Volunteer Fire Department. He plans to pursue his graduate degree and continue his work in psychology and business administration.
    Sacra has been a member of the Sul Ross Rodeo Team and competed in barrel racing, break away roping, and goat tying.  She won the National Intercollegiate Rodeo Association Scholar American Honors in 2013. She has served as secretary of the Student Government Association, vice president for the Honors Club and was inducted into the Alpha Chi National Honor Society, most recently serving as president.
    She has also served as a volunteer for the Hillside Baptist Church and Cowboy Church in Alpine, helps with local rodeos including Memorial Team-Ropings and the Big Bend Ranch Rodeo, volunteered for the Keep Alpine Beautiful campaign, and helps the Alpine Animal Shelter. She plans to pursue a career in animal science/animal health management.
    The Man and Woman of the Year award is the top honor a Sul Ross senior can receive. The following departmental awards were also given at the convocation.
Animal Science
Outstanding Equine Science Student – Jorge A. Rodela, Fabens
Outstanding Agricultural Education  Student – Isabel M. Whitehead,  Alpine
Outstanding Animal Health Management Student – Sadie Sacra, Needville
Outstanding Animal Production Student – Ross S. Porter, Pleasanton
Outstanding Exotic Wildlife Student – James Wyche, Midland
Outstanding Meat Science Student – Gabriel Rosale, Penitas
Outstanding Reproductive Physiology Student – Shelby L. Contreras, Uvalde
Outstanding Animal Science Graduate Student – Clay G. Gillespie, Stephenville    
Behavioral and Social Sciences
Clifford B. Casey Book Award – Emery Scown, Alpine
Outstanding History Major, Phi Alpha Theta History Award – Ryan J. Jacoby, The Woodlands
Psychology Student of the Year – Ryan W. Hoffer, El Paso

Biology, Geology and Physical Science
Outstanding Undergraduate Biology Student Award – Emma C. Shrum, Alpine
Outstanding Graduate Biology Student Award – Julia Green, Alpine; John T. Stone, Alpine
Julius Dasch Outstanding Undergraduate Geology Student – Shawna M. Graves, Austin
Lance Forsythe Memorial Outstanding Graduate Student Award – Lauren N. Royter, San Marcos
Outstanding Non-Traditional Geology Student – Michael Z. Weathers, Alpine

Business Administration
Outstanding Business Administration Student – Federico R. Hernandez, Alpine; Ivan Santos-Nunez, Alpine; Kaitlyn N. Walla, Blanco
Outstanding Master of Business Administration Student – Anidi Ufuoma, Ikotun, Lagos State, Nigeria
Outstanding Master of Business Administration Online Student – John C. Sieminski, Murchison

Computer Science and Mathematics
Outstanding Senior in Computer Science – Jess Z. Lambert, Sweetwater
Outstanding Freshman in Computer Science – Jonathan Maldonado, Tornillo
Gilley Mathematics Excellence Award – Cassandra H. Aguilar, Alpine
Outstanding Freshman in Mathematics – Adrian J. Maldonado, Alpine

Criminal Justice
Outstanding Freshman Criminal Justice Student – Armando Morales, El Paso        
Outstanding Sophomore Criminal Justice Student – Brandon Rodriguez, Uvalde
Outstanding Junior Criminal Justice Student – Ambrey L. Stone, Alpine
Outstanding Senior Criminal Justice Student – Dennis S. Avila,  Presidio
Outstanding Graduate Criminal Justice Student – Curtis R. Hamliton, El Paso

Education Excellence Award – Sara M. Hernandez, Presidio; Deborah A. Jernigan, Alpine; Kaylee M. Kocian, Florence; Cynthia Lopez, Alpine; Bonnie L. Lujan, Marfa; Eric Morales, El Paso; Pollette Perez, Alpine; Lessli Ruiz, San Antonio; Anna A. Sandoval, El Paso; Emily R. Sims, Alpine; Naomi L. Stiles, Carrizo Springs; Casey D. Valenzuela, Alpine
Outstanding Post Baccalaureate Initial Certification Program Clinical Teacher – Anita L. Smith, Alpine
Albert B. Tucker Reading Specialist Award – Danette M. Sandoval, Mico
W.H. Perryman Scholarship – Maile  J. Hoyt, Toyah

Fine Arts and Communication
Outstanding New Art Student – Aaron Bennack, Alpine
Outstanding Art Student – Leinora Alimboyoguen, Alpine
Outstanding Freshman Theatre Student – Benjamin Ivey, Alpine
Outstanding Vocal Music Student – Marcelino Velasquez, El Paso
Outstanding Instrumental Music Student – Travis C. Lutz,  Alpine

Honors Program
Honors Program Graduates – Hoffer; Sacra; Anna Sandoval; Kaitlyn Wood, San Antonio

Industrial Technology
Outstanding Student in Administrative Systems and Technology – Beatriz Wong, El Paso

Languages and Literature                
Outstanding Senior English Major – Matthew Hall, Era
Outstanding Senior Spanish Major – Herlinda Soto, Alpine

Natural Resource Management
Outstanding Conservation Biology Graduate Student – David Rumbelow, Van
Outstanding Graduate Student in Range and Wildlife Management-Range – Robert A. Allcorn, Spring
Outstanding Graduate Student in Range and Wildlife Management-Wildlife – Thomas Janke, Granger
Outstanding Underclassman Student in Natural Resource Management – Ivan A. Molina, Fort Worth
Outstanding Upperclassman Student in Natural Resource Management – JohnClayton Campbell, Castroville; Cameron Goebel, Boyd

    Motivational speaker David Edward Garcia will make a presentation Thursday, April 24 at the Alpine High School Gymnasium. The 6 p.m. event is free and open to the public.
    Garcia’s presentation is sponsored by the Sul Ross State University Gear Up Program.
    Garcia has an inspirational message and uses comedy to motivate students and parents on how to understand their true potential and how to get and stay motivated for life and education. All high school students and parents are encouraged to attend.
    For more information, contact Monica Saenz, (432) 837-8429 or