Curriculum Council


Responsibilities: The Curriculum Council shall review and recommend changes in the curriculum. More specifically,the council shall (a) review all proposals for curriculum program and degree changes, (b) review proposed changes in the requirements for graduation and (c) develop the means for evaluating the educational effectiveness of the curriculum.

Membership: Five faculty elected by Faculty Assembly, two students designated by the Student Government Association, and a representative of the Title V program.

Term: One-year and three-year

Chair: Elected by membership

Members Expiration of Term
Dr. Mark Rubin, Homeland Security and Criminal Justice - Chair 9/30/2018
Ms. Mazie Will, Industrial Technology and Administrative Systems and Technology 9/30/2017
Dr. Galen Privett, Education 9/30/2019
Dr. Kennard Laviers, Computer Science and Mathematics 9/30/2019
Dr. Bonnie Warnock, Natural Resource Management 9/30/2017
Vacant, Student Representative  
Vacant, Student Representative  

The following schedule for submission of Curriculum Change Requests intended for implementation for the Fall Semester of 2016

September 16

Faculty member to Department Chair

September 23

Department Chair to Dean

October 7

Dean to Curriculum Council Chair

October 1 - Movember 4

Curriculum Council Review

November 15

Curriculum Council Report to Faculty Assembly

November 18

Curriculum Council Approved Documents to Provost


Provost to President

February 2017

President to Texas State University System Board of Regents

March 2017

Approved Forms to Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board

After THECB Approval

Registrar implements into Banner

Fall 2017

Curriculum Changes Effective

Web pages updated upon THECB approval

Individual Department web page editor

Please use the current form for Curriculum Change Requests, which is but a click away at the top of the Curriculum Council webpage.