The academy provides two types of training programs. A basic police academy is conducted annually. This basic police academy exceeds the requirements of the TCOLE 643-hour Basic Peace Officer course. Cadets who successfully complete the basic police academy are eligible to sit for the TCOLE Basic Peace Officer examination. Those who pass this exam with a score of 70 percent or higher are then certified by TCOLE and are eligible for hire by Texas law enforcement agencies. Secondly, the academy provides continuing education and in-service training for law enforcement and corrections personnel in the Sul Ross State University service area. A variety of courses ranging from four hours to forty hours in length are offered each semester. These courses are designed to fulfill TCOLE mandated training requirements and to meet the unique training needs of area agencies.
Admission to the basic police academy is open to all persons who meet TCOLE requirements for certification as a Texas peace officer. Admission to in-service and continuing education programs are open to certified law enforcement and corrections personnel. The academy takes pride in using instructors who are experienced law enforcement and corrections people. Active and retired officers, FBI agents, chiefs of police, sheriffs and others with specific areas of expertise are brought in to insure the student receives quality training.
§215.15 Basic Licensing Enrollement Standards
(a) In order for an individual to enroll in any basic licensing course the academy must have on file:
(1) written documentation that the person is currently licensed by the commission, or
(2) if the individual is not licensed by the commission, documentation that the individual has been subjected to a search of local, state and national records to disclose any criminal record;
(A) is not currently charged with any criminal offense for which conviction would be a bar to licensure;
(B) community supervision history:
(i) has never been on court-ordered community supervision or probation for any criminal offense above the grade of a Class B misdemeanor or a Class B misdemeanor within the last ten years from the date of the court order; but
(ii) the commission may approve the application of an individual who received probation or court-ordered community supersivion for a Class B misdemeanor at least five(5) years prior to enrollment if an agency administrator sufficiently demonstrates in writing with supporting documentation that mitigating circumstances exist with the case and with the individual applying for licensure, and that the public interest would be served by reducing the waiting period;
(C) conviction history:
(i) has never been convicted of an offense above the grade of a Class B misdemeanor or a Class B misdemeanor within the last ten years, but
(ii) the commission may approve the application of an individual who was convicted of a Class B misdemeanor at least five (5) years prior to enrollment if an agency administrator sufficiently demonstrates in writing with supporting documentation that mitigating circumstances exist with the case and with the individual applying for licensure, and that the public interest would be served by reducing the waiting period.
(D) For purposes of this section, the commission will construe any court ordered community supervision, probation, or conviction for a criminal offense to be its closes equivalent under the Texas Penal Code classification of offenses if the offense arose from:
(i) another penal provision of Texas law; or
(ii) a penal provision of any other state, federal, military or foreign jurisdiction.
(E) A classification of an offense as a felony at the time of conviction will never be changed because Texas law has changed or because the offense would not be a felony under current Texas law.
(F) has never been convicted of any family violence offense;
(G) is not prohibited by state or federal law from operating a motor vehicle;
(H) is not prohibited by state or federal law from possessing firearms or ammunition; and
(I) is a U. S. citizen.
Cost of Attending
The cost of attending the basic police academy is $1,900 for tuition. Tuition and other costs are not refundable. Additional costs may include but are not limited to necessary uniforms and supplies, such as the book. It also does not include the cost of meals and lodging. All training materials and supplies are provided by the Academy, including weapons, handcuffs and classroom supplies. Firearms training is conducted with the Glock .40 caliber semi-automatic pistol. In addition to the pistol, cadets qualify with the 12-gauge shotgun and are familiarized with the AR-15 assault rifle. Cadets may be required to supply their own ammunition
Military veterans may be eligible for funding for tuition and living expenses while attending the academy. To check eligibility contact Debbie Tout at 432-837-8048 or at Lawrence Hall #213.
Other financial assitance may be available through the Texas Workforce Commission or other sources, however Financial Aid will not cover the cost of academy tuition.
Physical fitness is stressed throughout the basic police academy. Several hours are devoted to arrest tactics, takedown techniques and self-defense. Candidates who are unable to participate in strenuous physical activity should not apply to attend the basic police academy.
To register for training, call (432) 837-8614. Registration must be made a minimum of five days before the first day of class. If there is a cost for the course, payment will be due before attending class the first day. If you are unable to attend the course after registering, please contact the academy as soon as possible. Unless otherwise noted on the training calendar, all classes will be held in the academy classroom, MAB 202, and all classes will begin at 8:00 a.m. TCOLE credit will be given for all courses.