Fall Semester 2013

 
August 1, Thursday Deans to submit recommendations for Associate Graduate Faculty to the Graduate Council and the Provost and Vice President for Academic and Student Affairs
  Curriculum Changes approved in the spring are effective Fall 2013; Update individual web pages
  Housing assignments will be emailed
     
August 15-16, Thursday & Friday Texas State University System Board of Regents meeting at Sul Ross State University, Alpine
     
August 23, Friday Payment deadline for students who pre-registered, 4:00 p.m.
     
August 24, Saturday Opening of Residence Halls, 9 a.m.
  Lobo Days for new and transfer students
     
August 25, Sunday Student Convocation
  Lobo Days for new and transfer students
     
August 26, Monday Newcomers Breakfast, 7:30 a.m., UC 210
  Faculty Meeting, 9:00 a.m.
  College and Departmental Meetings, 10:30 a.m.
  Lobo Days for new and transfer students
     
August 27, Tuesday Last day for regular or online registration
  Lobo Days for new and transfer students
  Last day for students to register in Education block courses
     
August 28, Wednesday First day of classes
  Late registration and schedule changes begin
  Provost contacts Faculty Affairs Council chair about the number of promotions available
     
September 2, Monday Labor Day holiday, no classes
     
September 3, Tuesday Last day for late registration and schedule changes
  Curriculum Change Request -- Faculty member to Department Chair
  Research Enhancement funds made available to researchers
     
September 6, Friday Faculty to submit "Independent Study/Arrangement Courses" proposal form and/or "Undergraduate Course for Graduate Credit" proposal form to department chair
     
September 12-14, Thursday - Friday Sul Ross Lobo Football, Cowboys Stadium, Arlington; http://www.sulross.edu/thepack
     
September 13, Friday Twelfth class day
  Curriculum Change Request -- Department Chair to Dean
  Mid Winter and Spring schedules due to deans
     
September 20, Friday Last day for students enrolled in Education block courses to drop a course and receive a "W".
     
September 23, Monday Deadline for applying to student teach during the Spring Semester, 2014
  Curriculum Change Request -- Dean to Curriculum Council Chair
  Spring & Mid Winter schedules due to the Provost and Vice President for Academic and Student Affairs
     
September 30, Monday University as a Community Meal on the Mall
     
October 1-31 Curriculum Change Request -- Curriculum Council Review
     
October 11, Friday Tenure and Promotion Review:  Vitae and dossier to department chair.  Dossier to be forwarded to departmental evaluation committee.
     
October 15, Tuesday Mid-Semester
     
November 4, Monday Call for Research Enhancement and Faculty Development proposals
     
November 7 & 8, Thursday & Friday Texas State University System Board of Regents meeting at Lamar University, Beaumont TX
     
November 8, Friday   Tenure and Promotion Review:  Vitae, dossier, and recommendations from the departmental chairperson to the dean
     
November 11, Monday Curriculum Change Request -- Curriculum Council Report to Faculty Assembly
  Last day for instructor initiated drop for excessive absence. Must reach the Provost's office by Monday, November 11.
     
November 13, Wednesday Academic Evaluation:  Completion of Student Appraisal of Faculty (Form FE-2) for Fall 2013 (to be completed 11/13 – 11/22)
     
November 15, Friday Last day to withdraw from the University or to drop courses with grade of "W." Drops must be processed with Enrollment Services by 4:00 p.m.
  Curriculum Change Request -- Curriculum Council approved documents to Provost
  Summer schedules due to deans
     
November 27, Wednesday Residence halls close, 9:00 a.m.
     
November 27 - 29,                          Wednesday - Friday Thanksgiving Day holiday (Begins after the last scheduled class meets on Tuesday, November 26)
     
December 1, Sunday Residence Halls open, noon
     
December 2013 Curriculum Change Request -- Provost to President
     
December 4, Wednesday        Last class day before finals
  Summer schedule due to the Provost and Vice President for Academic and Student Affairs
  Second year non-tenured faculty to be notified if appointment will expire by end of current year
     
December 5 & 6, Thursday - Friday Dead Days
     
December 9 - 12, Monday-Thursday Final Examinations, End of Term
     
December 13, Friday Tenure and Promotion Review:  Application, dossier and recommendations from the dean to the School Review Committee
     
December 14, Saturday Fall Commencement, Pete P. Gallego Center, 10:00 a.m. 
  Closing of Residence Halls, 9 a.m.