Spring Semester 2014

     
January 2-15 Mid-winter Semester
     
January 13, Monday Opening of residence Halls, noon
  Lobo Days for new and transfer students
     
January 14, Tuesday Faculty Meeting, 9:00 a.m.
  School and Departmental Meetings, 10:30 a.m. 
  Lobo Days for new and transfer students
     
January 15, Wednesday Last day for regular registration
  Last day for students to register in Education block courses
  Lobo Days for new and transfer students
     
January 16, Thursday First day of classes
  Late registration and schedule changes begin
     
January 20, Monday Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday
     
January 22, Wednesday Last day for late registration and schedule changes
     
January 24, Friday Dean/Director to submit recommendation for Associate Graduate Faculty to Graduate Council and Provost and Vice President for Academic and Student Affairs
  Fall class schedules due to deans
     
January 25, Saturday   Weekend Format classes begin
     
January 31, Friday Last day for students enrolled in Education block courses to drop a course and receive a "W"
  Academic Evaluation:  Annual Report of Teaching/Job Performance, Scholarly/Artistic Activities; Form FE-3 submitted to chairs.
     
February 2014 Curriculum Changes:  President to TSUS Board of Regents Meeting
     
February 3, Monday Twelfth class day
     
February 14, Friday Tenure/Promotion applications from Dean and from School Review Committee to Faculty Affairs Council
  Annual Report on Teaching/Job Performance; Form FE-3 Submitted to the deans.
  Fall class schedules due to the Provost and Vice President for Academic and Student Affairs
  Deadline for applying to student teach during the Fall Semester, 2014
  Last day to apply for May graduation without a late fee
     
February 27-28, Thursday-Friday Texas State University System Board of Regents meeting at Texas State UniversitySan Marcos
     
March 2014 Curriculum Changes:  Approved Changes to THECB; Records and Registration implements changes into Banner; Changes Effective Fall 2014; Individual web pages updated
     
March 6, Thursday Mid Semester
     
March 7, Friday Annual Report on Teaching/Job Performance; Submitted to the Provost/Vice President for Academic and Student Affairs.
  Tenure/Promotion applications from Faculty Affairs Council to Provost and Vice President for Academic and Student Affairs
  Deadline for receiving Research Enhancement proposals for 2013-2014 RE Grants & for final reports for grants awarded FY2012
     
March 8, Saturday Residence Halls close, 9:00 a.m.
     
March 10-14, Monday - Friday Spring Break.  No Classes.  Energy Conservation Days March 12-13; Holiday March 14
     
March 16, Sunday Residence Halls open, noon
     
March 28, Friday Tenure/Promotion applications from the Provost and Vice President for Academic and Student Affairs to the President (Board recommendations to the Board of Regents at the May meeting)
     
March 31, Monday University as a Community Meal on the Mall
  Last day for instructor initiated drop for excessive absences.  Must reach the Provost's office by Monday, March 31.
     
April 1 - May 2   Academic Evaluation:  Completion of Student Appraisal of Faculty (Form FE-2) for Spring to be completed April 1 through May 2)
     
April 4, Friday Last day to withdraw from the University or to drop courses with grade of "W." Drops must be processed with Enrollment Services by 4:00 p.m.
  Research Council recommendations for funding to be made to the Provost and Vice President for Academic and Student Affairs
     
April 18, Friday Good Friday -  12 noon - Classes dismissed and offices close; 0.5 Energy Conservation Day
     
April 21, Monday Honors Convocation, Marshall Auditorium, 7:30 p.m.
     
April 30, Wednesday Last class day before finals
  Announce Research Enhancement grants awarded for September
     
May 1-2, Thursday - Friday Dead Days
     
May 2, Friday Last day to apply for August graduation without a late fee
     
May 5-8, Monday - Thursday Final Examinations - End of term
     
May 10, Saturday Spring Commencement, Pete P. Gallego Center, 10:00 a.m. 
  Closing of residence halls, 9 a.m.
     
May 22-23, Thursday & Friday Texas State University System Board of Regents meeting at Sam Houston State University in Huntsville
  Promotion and Tenure recommendations to the Board of Regents