Fall Semester 2014

 
August 1, Friday Deans to submit recommendations for Associate Graduate Faculty to the Graduate Council and the Provost and Vice President for Academic and Student Affairs
  Curriculum Changes approved in the spring are effective Fall 2014; Update individual web pages
  Housing assignments will be emailed
     
August 22, Friday Payment deadline for students who pre-registered, 4:00 p.m.
  Newcomers Breakfast, 7:30 a.m., UC210
  Faculty Meeting, 9:00 a.m.
  College and Departmental Meetings, 10:30 a.m.
  Last day for regular or online registration
  Lobo Days for new and transfer students
  Opening of Residence Halls, 9 a.m., August 22nd & 23rd
     
August 23, Saturday Opening of Residence Halls, 9 a.m., August 22nd & 23rd
  Lobo Days for new and transfer students
     
August 24, Sunday New Student Convocation
  Lobo Days for new and transfer students
     
August 25, Monday First day of classes
  Late registration, and schedule changes begin
     
August 26, Tuesday Last day for students to register in Education block courses
     
August 27, Wednesday Provost contacts Faculty Affairs Council chair about the number of promotions available
     
August 28, Thursday Last day for late registration and schedule changes
     
August 28-29, Thursday & Friday Texas State University System Board of Regents meeting in Austin
     
September 1, Monday Labor Day holiday, no classes
     
September 2, Tuesday Curriculum Change Request -- Faculty member to Department Chair
  Research Enhancement funds made available to researchers
     
September 5, Friday Faculty to submit "Independent Study/Arrangement Courses" proposal form and/or "Undergraduate Course for Graduate Credit" proposal form to department chair
     
September 10, Wednesday Twelfth class day
     
September 12, Friday Curriculum Change Request -- Department Chair to Dean
  Spring and Mid-winter schedules due to deans
     
September 19, Friday Last day to apply for December graduation without a late fee
  Last day for students enrolled in Education block courses to drop a course and receive a "W"
     
September 22, Monday Deadline for applying to student teach during the Spring Semester, 2015
  Curriculum Change Request -- Dean to Curriculum Council Chair
  Spring & Mid-winter schedules due to the Provost and Vice President for Academic and Student Affairs
     
September 29, Monday University as a Community Meal on the Mall
     
October 1-31 Curriculum Change Request -- Curriculum Council Review
     
October 10, Friday Tenure and Promotion Review:  Vitae and dossier to department chair.  Dossier to be forwarded to departmental evaluation committee.
     
October 20, Monday Mid-semester
     
November 3, Monday Call for Research Enhancement and Faculty Development proposals
     
November 6 & 7, Thursday & Friday Texas State University System Board of Regents meeting at Lamar University, Beaumont TX
     
November 10, Monday Curriculum Change Request -- Curriculum Council Report to Faculty Assembly
  Last day for instructor initiated drop for excessive absences.  Must reach the Provost's office by Monday, November 10.
     
November 12, Wednesday Academic Evaluation:  Completion of Student Appraisal of Faculty (Form FE-2) for Fall 2014 (to be completed 11/12 - 11/22)
     
November 14, Friday Last day to withdraw from the University or to drop courses with grade of "W." Drops must be processed and in the Registrar's Office by 4:00 p.m.
  Curriculum Change Request -- Curriculum Council approved documents to Provost
  Summer schedules due to deans
  Tenure and Promotion Review:  Forward applications for promotion from the chairperson to the dean.
     
November 26, Wednesday Residence halls close, 9:00 a.m.
     
November 26-28, Wednesday - Friday Thanksgiving Day holiday (Begins after the last scheduled class meets on Tuesday, November 25)
     
November 30, Sunday Residence Halls open, Noon
     
December 2014 Curriculum Change Request -- Provost to President
     
December 3, Wednesday        Last class day before finals
  Summer schedule due to the Provost and Vice President for Academic and Student Affairs
  Second year non-tenured faculty to be notified if appointment will expire by end of current year
     
December 4 and 5, Thursday - Friday Dead Days
     
December 8-11, Monday-Thursday Final Examinations, End of Term
     
December 12, Friday Tenure and Promotion Review:  Application, dossier and recommendations from the dean to the School Review Committee
     
December 13, Saturday Fall Commencement, Pete P. Gallego Center, 10:00 a.m. 
  Closing of Residence Halls, 9 a.m.