Academic Calendar 2013-2014 for Rio Grande College

Fall 2013

July 1

On-line registration begins, 9:00a.m.

August 26

First day of classes; late registration and schedule changes begin. Late registration fees apply.

September 2

Labor Day holiday

September 3

Last day for late registration and schedule changes

September 11

12th class day

September 20

Last day to apply for student teaching for spring 2014

October 18

Mid-Semester

November 15

Last day to withdraw from the University or to drop courses with a ‘W.’ Drops must be processed and in the Admissions office by 4:00 p.m.

November 27-29

Thanksgiving Holidays. Note: classes will be held Monday, Nov. 25 and Tuesday, Nov. 26

December 5

Last class day

December 6

Last day to apply for May, 2014 graduation without paying a late fee

December 9-12

Final examinations

December 14

Fall Commencement: 10:00 a.m., Pete P. Gallego Center, Alpine; 7:30p.m. Uvalde High School Auditorium, Uvalde

Spring 2014

November 5

On-Line registration begins, 9:00 a.m.

January 13

First day of class. Late registration and schedule changes begin. Late registration fees apply.

January 20

Martin Luther King, Jr. holiday

January 21

Last Day for late registration and schedule changes

January 29

12th class day

February 7

Last day to apply for May 2014 graduation and only pay a $25.00 late fee.

February 21

Last day to apply for student teaching for Fall 2014

March 7

Last day to apply for summer 2014 graduation in August without paying a late fee.

March 7

Mid-Semester

March 10-14

Spring Break. No classes

April 4

Last day to withdraw from the University or to drop courses with a grade of “W”. Drops must be processed and in the Admissions office by 4:00 p.m.

April 17

Last day to apply for May 2014 graduation. A $50.00 late fee will be charged. No applications accepted for May graduation after this date.

April 18

Good Friday holiday

May 1

Last Class day

May 5-8

Final Examinations

May 10

Spring Commencement 10:00 a.m., Gallego Center, Alpine; 7:30 p.m., Uvalde High School Auditorium, Uvalde

May 12

Final course grades due by noon

Summer I 2014 Semester: June 2- July 8, 2014

March 19 – 21, Wednesday - Friday

Priority online registration begins for Summer I & II and Fall at 9:00 a.m. Graduate students and seniors with 90 or more semester credit hours may enroll.

March 22-24,

Saturday - Monday

Online registration continues for seniors, juniors with 60-89 semester credit hours and graduate students.

March 25, Tuesday

Open online registration begins for new students and all returning students.

May 16, Friday

Last day to apply for Summer 2014 graduation in August and only pay a $25.00 late fee.

May 26, Monday

Memorial Day holiday

June 2, Monday

Classes begin, late registration and schedule changes begin; payment must be concluded by this day.

June 4, Wednesday

Last day for registration and schedule changes

June 5, Thursday

4th class day

June 23, Monday

Mid-Semester

June 27, Friday

Last day to drop a course with a “W.” Drops must be processed and in the Admissions office by 4:00 p.m.

July 4, Friday

Fourth of July holiday

July 7, Monday

Final exams for Monday/Wednesday classes

July 8, Tuesday

Final exams for Tuesday/Thursday classes

July 9, Wednesday

Final course grades due by 5:00 p.m.

Note: No Optional Payment Plan available for Summer sessions

 

Summer II 2014 Semester: July 1- August 15, 2014

July 10, Thursday

Classes begin, late registration and schedule changes begin. Late registration fees apply.

July 11, Friday

Last day to apply for December 2014 graduation in Uvalde without paying a late fee.

July 14, Monday

Last day for registration and schedule changes

July 15, Tuesday

4th class day

July 21, Monday

Mid-Semester

August 1, Friday

Last day to apply for Summer 2014 graduation. A $50.00 late fee will be charged. No applications for Summer graduation will be accepted after this date.

August 4, Monday

Last day to drop a course with a “W.” Drops must be processed and in the Admissions office by 4:00 p.m.

August 13, Wednesday

Final exams for Monday/Wednesday classes

August 14, Thursday

Final exams for Tuesday/Thursday classes

August 15, Friday

Final course grades due by 5:00 p.m.

August 16. Saturday

End of semester

Note: No Optional Payment Plan available for Summer sessions