The Quality Enhancement Plan (QEP) Topic Development Team

The Quality Enhancement Plan (QEP) Topic Development Team met from 2015-2016 and comprised of thirty-four members representing a variety of constituent groups. The Team had the following responsibilities:

  • Introduce the QEP concept to constituents
  • Identify criteria for the selection of the QEP theme
  • Solicit ideas for the QEP theme from constituents
  • Develop brief summaries for proposed topics in the narrowed list

QEP Topic Development Team Members

NAME

EMAIL

TITLE

DEPARTMENT/COLLEGE

Jeanne Qvarnstrom, QEP chair for 2015-2016

jqvarnstrom@sulross.edu

Assistant Professor/ Assistant Vice President

Education/ Institutional Effectiveness

April Aultman Becker

april.becker@sulross.edu

Dean

Library & Information Technology

Daniel Foley

dfoley@sulross.edu

Professor/RGC

Natural& Behavioral Sciences

Jimmy Case, Ex- Officio

jcase@sulross.edu

Executive Vice President & Provost

Academic Affairs

Sandy Bogus

sbogus@sulross.edu

Instructional Designer

Office of Information Technology

Chris Estepp

cestepp@sulross.edu

Assistant Professor/ SACSCOC Faculty Liaison

Department of Animal Science

Theron Francis

tfrancis@sulross.edu

Assistant Professor

Department of Languages and Literature

David Leaver

david.leaver@sulross.edu

Assistant Professor

Department of Biology, Geology, and Physical Sciences

Ebdawna Musquiz

emus9217@sulross.edu

Business Assistant/RGC MBA Student

Business

Libby Newman

edalton@sulross.edu

Coordinator

Office of Institutional Effectiveness

Jennifer Penland

jennifer.penland@sulross.edu

Director of Experiential Learning

Lobo Road to Success- Title V

Brandy Snyder

bsnyder@sulross.edu

Associate Director

Lobo Den

Barbara Tucker

btucker@sulross.edu

Assistant Professor

Department of Education

Joey Velasco

jvelasco@sulross.edu

Assistant Professor/ President of Faculty Assembly

Fine Arts and Communication

Kathy Stein

kstein@sulross.edu

Director of ACE and Asst Professor

Academic Center for Excellence

Sara Strapoli

stropolis@hotmail.com

Executive Director

Family Crisis Center for the Big Bend

Larry Francell

larry.francell@sbcglobal.net

County Commissioner

Jeff Davis County

Leslie Hopper

lhopper@sulross.edu

Community Member

 

Samuel Garcia

sgarcia@sulross.edu

Professor/RGC

Counseling Curriculum Development

Jeffery Blake

jblake@sulross.edu

Director

University Center & Campus Activities

Juan Morales

jmor6344@sulross.edu

President/RGC

Student Government Association

Rick Stephens

rickstephens@me.com

Community Member

Alpine

Erik Zimmer

eric.zimmer@ci.alpine.tx.us

City Manager

Alpine, TX

Derek Stratton

dstr8736@sulross.edu

President

Student Government Association

Aaron Tavitas

mtavitas@sulross.edu

Head Women’s Basketball Coach

Athletics

Andy Peters

apeters@marfaisd.com

Superintendent

Marfa I.S.D.

Cristal Maltos

cmaltos@sulross.edu

Student

Student Worker Office of Institutional Effectiveness

Matthew Hall

mhal1745@sulross.edu

Student

Student Government Association

Sharon Hileman

shileman@sulross.edu

Dean

Graduate Studies

John Jones

jjones4@sulross.edu

Director

Institutional Research

Michael Ortiz

mortiz@sulross.edu

Associate Professor/RGC President of Faculty Senate

Natural& Behavioral Sciences

Cristal Maltos

cmaltos@sulross.edu

Student

Student Worker Office of Institutional Effectiveness

Esther Rumsey

erumsey@sulross.edu

Professor/ Department Chair

Fine Arts and Communication

Scott Wassermann

jwassermann@sulross.edu

Department Chair

Industrial Technology

The Quality Enhancement Plan (QEP) Oversight Team

The Quality Enhancement Plan (QEP) Oversight Team (formed in 2016) is comprised of twenty-nine members representing a variety of constituent groups. The Team had the following responsibilities:

Review and narrow the proposed ideas for the QEP theme

Apply the theme of communication to learning at SRSU

Solidify the QEP theme name

Craft student learning outcomes, activities, and assessments that can be implemented with the theme.

Focus the topic and application of the QEP

Gain support among stakeholders

QEP Oversight Team Members

NAME

EMAIL

TITLE

DEPARTMENT/COLLEGE

April Aultman Becker, QEP Coordinator for Alpine

april.becker@sulross.edu

Dean

Library & Information Technology

Daniel Foley, QEP Coordinator for RGC

dfoley@sulross.edu

Professor/RGC

Natural& Behavioral Sciences

Jeanne Qvarnstrom, QEP chair for 2015-2016

jqvarnstrom@sulross.edu

Assistant Professor/ Assistant Vice President

Education/ Institutional Effectiveness

Jimmy Case, Ex- Officio

jcase@sulross.edu

Executive Vice President & Provost

Academic Affairs

Sandy Bogus

sbogus@sulross.edu

Instructional Designer

Office of Information Technology

Chris Estepp

cestepp@sulross.edu

Assistant Professor/ SACSCOC Faculty Liaison

Department of Animal Science

Theron Francis

tfrancis@sulross.edu

Assistant Professor

Department of Languages and Literature

David Leaver

david.leaver@sulross.edu

Assistant Professor

Department of Biology, Geology, and Physical Sciences

Ebdawna Musquiz

emus9217@sulross.edu

Business Assistant/RGC MBA Student

Business

Libby Newman

edalton@sulross.edu

Coordinator

Office of Institutional Effectiveness

Jennifer Penland

jennifer.penland@sulross.edu

Director of Experiential Learning

Lobo Road to Success- Title V

Brandy Snyder

bsnyder@sulross.edu

Associate Director

Lobo Den

Barbara Tucker

btucker@sulross.edu

Assistant Professor

Department of Education

Joey Velasco

jvelasco@sulross.edu

Assistant Professor/ President of Faculty Assembly

Fine Arts and Communication

Kathy Stein

kstein@sulross.edu

Director of ACE and Asst Professor

Academic Center for Excellence

Danielle Lucero

dluc1460@sulross.edu

student, SGA Vice-President

Student Government Association

Jimmy Dale

 

student

student

Chancellor

 

student

student

Gloria

 

student

student

Sara Strapoli

stropolis@hotmail.com

Executive Director

Family Crisis Center for the Big Bend

Liz Castillo

ecastillo@sulross.edu

Director of Student Support Services

Student Support Services

Kayla Waggoner

kayla.waggoner@sulross.edu

Administrative Secretary

BWM Library

Dominique Sanchez

dvargas@sulross.edu

Director of McNair Grant

McNair Scholars Program

Larry Francell

larry.francell@sbcglobal.net

County Commissioner

Jeff Davis County

Francine Richter

frichter@sulross.edu

English professor

Department of Languages and Literature

Rosemary Briseno

rbriseno@sulross.edu

English professor

Department of Languages and Literature

Hamin Shabazz

hxs16sb@sulross.edu

Dean of College of Ed & Prof Studies

Education and Professional Studies

Leslie Hopper

lhopper@sulross.edu

Community Member

 

Rececca Splan

rebecca.splan@sulross.edu

Associate Professor, Equine Science

ANRS

 

The Quality Enhancement Plan (QEP) Subcommittees

The Quality Enhancement Plan (QEP) Subcommittees were formed within the QEP Oversight Committee in 2017.

QEP Subcommittees, Charges, and Team Members

Subcommittee 

Members

Literature Review and Best Practices

This committee’s task is to research and compile the appropriate sources available to inform the design and implementation of the QEP; then compose a literature review for the QEP document.

 Kathy Stein

Joey Velasco

Alejandra Villalobos Melendez

Danielle Lucero

Francine Richter

David Leaver

 
Faculty Development
This committee is responsible for developing the aspects of the faculty development for teaching communication and assessment best practices. Theron Francis

Esther Rumsey

Brandy Snyder

Chancelor Ginithan

Rosemary Briseno

Hamin Shabazz

 

Student Learning Outcomes and Assessment

This committee is responsible for refining the student learning outcomes and determining how those outcomes will be assessed.

 

Chris Estepp

Barbara Tucker

Jeanne Qvarnstrom

Gloria Villanueva

Dominique Sanchez

Jenny Penland

 

Budget and Resources

This committee collects information from the other subcommittees, examines existing university resources, and determines how the university will support the QEP.

 

Dan Foley

Larry Francell

Brittany Thompson

Rebecca Splain

Libby Newman

 

Marketing and Communications

This committee determines how to promote the QEP to the campus community, alumni, and the wider community.

 

Liz Castillo

Sara Stropoli

Jimmy Dale Abner

April Aultman Becker

Ebdawna Musquiz