$1,000 Tuition Rebate Program
To provide a financial incentive for students to complete their bachelor's degree with as few courses outside the degree plan as possible. Minimizing the number of courses taken by students results in financial savings to the students, the parents and the state. To read more about this program, see the Texas Education Code 54.0065, Coordinating Board Rules, Chapter 13 Subchapter E.
Who Can Apply
- Took their first college course in fall 1997 or later;
- Are Texas residents;
- Have taken all coursework at Texas public institutions of higher education; and
- Have been entitled to pay in-state tuition at all times while pursuing his or her degree.
Key Eligibility Requirements
Students qualify for the $1,000 rebate if they have attempted no more than three semester credit hours in excess of the minimum number of hours required for their degree. For example, a student who completes a bachelor's degree that requires 120 credit hours in 123 hours or less may qualify for this rebate.
Attempted hours include every course for which the student has registered, as of the official Census Date, in every semester, including: developmental courses, repeated courses and courses from which the student withdraws. If you have dropped more than one course after the official Census Date, you may not qualify for the rebate. All credit earned by examination used to be counted, as well. However, because of a recent change in the law, the first nine hours of credit earned by examination (credit earned on the basis of AP courses, CLEP or credit granted for high SAT or ACT scores) does not count as hours attempted. Dual credit courses -- courses taken in high school for both high school and college credit -- continue to count as hours attempted.
How to Apply
Students must apply for the tuition rebate prior to receiving their bachelor's degree, using forms provided by the university. Contact the Academic Dean's office or print a copy of the form.