Students Honored at Awards Ceremony

Alpha Chi members inducted into the honor society on Saturday include, from left to right, Manuel Valadez, Dolores Sanchez, Jennifer Alejandro, Claudia Lozano, Veronica Lozano, Amparo Zuniga, Yessica Cantu, Amber Luna, Cindy Cardenas, Lindsey Sandoval, and Sydney Rabago. Not pictured are Azayra Campos De Cardenas, Robert Josephine Castillo, David Hernandez, Monique Mares, Aracely Ruiz, Rogelio Valero, and Kassandra Vasquez.

By Laura Nelson

Eagle Pass-Sul Ross State University Rio Grande College students, faculty, staff, family and friends celebrated academic and leadership achievements during the awards ceremony held at the La Mansion Reception Room in Eagle Pass on Sat., Apr. 27, 2015.

After welcoming remarks from Dr. Claudia R. Wright, Director of Admissions, and Dr. Paul Sorrels, Associate Provost/Dean, ROTC students from the Eagle Pass Independent School District posted the colors and led the Pledge of Allegiance. Rita Ortiz, RGC graduate, Eagle Pass native and a staff member at the Castroville site, offered a superb a capella delivery of the “Star Spangled Banner” followed by a meal catered by Guajardo’s Banquets.

Dr. Patricia Nicosia, Chair of the Natural and Behavioral Sciences department and Professor of Mathematics, introduced the 18 RGC students who were inducted into the Alpha Chi collegiate national honor society. Alpha Chi admits students from all disciplines who maintain rigorous academic standards. This year’s inductees include Manuel Valadez of Crystal City; Azayva Campos De Cardenas and Cindy Cardenas of Del Rio; Yessica Cantu, Claudia Lozano, Veronica Lozano, Amber Luna, Monique Mares, Sydney Rabago, Dolores Sanchez, Rogelio Valero, Kassandra Vasquez, and Amparo Zuniga of Eagle Pass; Robert Josephine Castillo of La Pryor; Lindsey Sandoval of Sabinal; Aracely Ruiz and Jennifer Alejandro of Uvalde; and David Hernandez of Tonawanda, N.Y.

Students submitted fiction and non-fiction writings to compete in the Writing Contest. Dr. Sarah Roche, Chair of the Humanities department and a Professor of English, named this year’s winners. Jesus Ortiz, a student from Eagle Pass, earned first place followed by Megan Ramsey of Knippa in second place with Oriana Fernandez of Del Rio winning third.

Mayor of Eagle Pass, Ramsey English Cantu, right, presents a plaque to Juan Morales for serving as the President of the Student Government Association for the 2014-2015 academic year. Morales will continue his presidency for 2015-2016.

The Honorable Ramsey English Cantu, Mayor of Eagle Pass, presented plaques to the outgoing and the incoming Student Government Association officials. Juan Morales, Del Rio, served as President this past year and will remain at the helm for the 2015-2016 school year. Those stepping down include Amber Luna and Maria Karolina Valenzuela of Eagle Pass; and Deyanira Diego and Ebdawna Jo Musquiz, Del Rio. Joining Morales for the new school year are Angie Martinez, Vice President; Larizza Lopez, Secretary, and Yadira Segura, Treasurer, all of Eagle Pass.

Students voted for their favorite students on each campus. Rudy Paniagua and Deyanira Diego were chosen for Del Rio, Abraham Carranco and Angie Martinez for Eagle Pass and Christian Ruiz and Rebekah Garza for Uvalde. Students also selected Dr. Fernando Quiz as their Favorite Faculty member and the Favorite Staff Members are Bobbi Jo Guerra, Del Rio; Juan Tamez, Eagle Pass; and Celso Garza, Uvalde.

Those students who earned a spot on the Dean’s list were honored as well as those recognized in Who’s Who in American Universities and Colleges.

Rio Grande College will hold the spring commencement ceremony in Del Rio at the Del Rio Civic Center on May 16 at 7:30 p.m.