Celebrating Success

Dr. Bill Kibler, right, presents Dr. Edison Moura with a plaque naming him Faculty of the Year as voted on by students.

By Laura Nelson

Students, faculty, and staff who study and work at the Sul Ross State Univ. campuses in Del Rio, Eagle Pass, and Uvalde, gathered Sat., Apr. 27 to celebrate their own and each other’s achievements.

The annual event took place at Guajardo’s Banquets in Eagle Pass and those in attendance enjoyed lunch during the awards ceremony. The C. C. Winn High School JROTC presented the colors. SRSU President Bill Kibler served as guest speaker and spoke about the components of building a successful life.

Dr. Patricia Nicosia, Chair of Natural and Behavioral Sciences, led the induction ceremony for students joining Alpha Chi, a national collegiate honor society open to students studying any academic discipline. The following students were inducted and represent the top of their class: Elizabeth Alferes, Eagle Pass; Evelyn Bass, Eagle Pass; Clarissa Garcia, Carrizo Springs; Abraham Javalera, Eagle Pass; Jamie Lombrana, Del Rio; Antoine Marr, Del Rio; Martha Mendoza, Eagle Pass; Lariza Munoz, Quemado; Rocio Rodriguez, Del Rio; and Marcus Villareal, Del Rio.

Dr. Verónica Méndez, Assistant Provost and Dean, recognized undergraduate students named to the Dean’s List, which requires a grade point average of 3.3 or higher based on a 4.0 scale and full-time enrollment. Dr. Tiffany Culver, Associate Professor of Psychology, acknowledged students who participate in the Creative Writing, Math, Psychology, and Spanish Clubs. Ms. Isabel Ybarra, Associate Director of Admissions and Financial Aid, spoke about the importance of financial aid to our students. She honored those who had received scholarships and thanked the local businesses and individuals that donate to make those scholarships available.

In addition to the academic awards, students voted for a number of favorites. Dr. Kibler presented the Favorite Faculty Member award to Dr. Edison Moura, Professor of Business. Favorite students by campus include Victor Ortiz and Shari Cardenas in Eagle Pass; Jesus Ramon and Andrea Guerrero in Del Rio; and Anthony Gaucin and Pilar Navarro of Uvalde.

The Spring Banquet heralds the approaching commencement ceremony set for Sat., May 18, 2019 at 7:30 p.m. at the Del Rio Civic Center.