Library and Information Technologies Council

Draft of Collection Development Policy (PDF, 111 KB)

Responsibilities: Generally, the Library and Information Technologies Council shall review, advise, and make recommendations relating to the access and utilization of the Library and Information Technologies (LIBIT). More specifically, the council shall:

1. Review the mission statement and goals of LIBIT as set forth in its departmental strategic plan.
2. Become familiar with the accreditation standard of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools and other appropriate accrediting associations and periodically evaluate the LIBIT in relation to those standards.
3. Review collection policy statements annually to verify that existing collection goals are being met and that changes in defined goals and user needs are addressed, and to ensure that allocation of resources is sufficient to support the educational, research, and community service goals of the university.

Primary Responsibility Area: Academic

Membership: Appointed (shall consist of seven members: five elected by the Faculty Assembly, the Dean of the Library and Information Technologies, and one student member designated by the Student Government Association who will serve a 1-year term)

Term: 3-year and 1-year student appointment

Chair: Elected by membership

Members Expiration of Term
Dr. Anirban Bhattacharjee, Biology, Geology, and Physical Sciences 9/30/2021
Mr. Avrum Dumitrescu, Fine Arts and Communication 9/30/2020
Dr. Patricia Harveson, Natural Resource Management 9/30/2019
Dr. David Leaver, Biology, Geology, and Phyiscal Sciences 9/30/2021
Dr. Ian Peddie, Languages and Literature 9/30/2019
Vacant, Student Representative 9/30/2018
Ms. April Aultman Becker, Dean of Library and Research Technologies - Chair ex officio, voting