Teacher Education Council

Responsibilities: The responsibilities of the Teacher Education Council are to:

  1. Assist in the general evaluation of all aspects of the teacher education program and recommend policies and guidelines to meet the standards of the university, the Texas Education Agency, and the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools.
  2. Review currently authorized teacher certification programs and recommend changes.
  3. Recommend institutional standards for student teaching, for practicums and internships in teacher education programs, and assist in the development of procedures for the implementation of standards.
  4. Make recommendations on student appeals which may be referred to the council by the Director of Teacher Education. Students must make their appeals in writing and be willing to meet with the council.

Primary Responsibility Area: Academic

Membership: Shall consist of the chairs of departments with teacher certification programs, the Dean of Library and Research Technologies, the Director of Teacher Education, the Dean of Arts and Sciences, the Dean of Professional Studies, the Dean of Agricultural and Natural Resource Sciences and one student designated by the Student Government Association (to serve a one-year term).

Chair: Director of Teacher Education

Members Expiration of Term
Ms. April Aultman Becker, Dean of Library and Research Technologies ex officio, voting
Dr. Angela Brown, Computer Science and Mathematics ex officio, voting
Dr. Jay Downing, Dean of Arts and Sciences ex officio, voting
Dr. Chris Estepp, Agriculture Education ex officio, voting
Dr. William Green, Business Administration ex officio, voting
Dr. Jim Hector, Kinesiology and Human Performance ex officio, voting
Dr. Ryan Luna, Natural Resource Management ex officio, voting
Dr. Laura Payne, Languages and Literature ex officio, voting
Dr. Chris Ritzi, Biology, Geology, and Physical Sciences ex officio, voting
Ms. Diana Rodriguez, Director of Teacher Education, Chair ex officio, voting
Ms. Marjorie Scott, Fine Arts and Communication ex officio, voting
Dr. Barbara Tucker, Education ex officio, voting
Dr. Tiffiny Vincent, Behavioral and Social Sciences ex officio, voting
Dr. Bonnie Warnock, Dean of Agricultural and Natural Resource Sciences ex officio, voting
Vacant, Dean of Education and Professional Studies ex officio, voting
Auxiliary Members
Vacant, Student Representative 9/30/2021
Staff Members  
Mr. Elbert Bassham, Testing and Certification Coordinator ex officio, non-voting
Ms. Lizet Holguin, Education Secretary and PBICP Coordinator ex officio, non-voting
Ms. Diana Rodriguez, Undergraduate Advisor and PBICP Advisor ex officio, non-voting