Fall 2018 - Summer 2019

FALL 2018

August 1, Wednesday
  • Deans to submit recommendations for Associate Graduate Faculty to the Graduate Dean and the Executive Vice President and Provost for Academic Affairs
 
  • Curriculum changes approved in the Spring are effective Fall 2018; update individual web pages
   
August 3,  Friday
  • Residence Halls: Housing assignments will be emailed on or before this date
   
August 16-17, Thursday & Friday
  • Texas State University System Board of Regents meeting in Cedar Creek, TX
   
August 23, Thursday
  • Residence Halls: Athletic Move-In day 10 a.m.-4 p.m. by team
   
August 24, Friday
  • Payment deadline for students who pre-registered, 4 p.m.
 
  • Lobo Days for new and transfer students; 4 p.m. on the Fountain Mall
 
  • Residence Halls: Move-In day, 10 a.m-4 p.m. by housing assignment
   
August 25, Saturday
  • Lobo Days for new and transfer students
 
  • Residence Halls: Move-In day
   
August 26, Sunday
  • New Student Convocation, 7 p.m. Marshall Auditorium
 
  • Lobo Days for new and transfer students
 
  • Residence Halls: Move-In day
 
  • Regular registration ends
   
August 27, Monday
  • Newcomers Breakfast, 7:30 a.m.
 
  • First day of classes, 16 week and 1st 8 week term
 
  • College and departmental meetings TBA by college/departments
 
  • Faculty Meeting, 4 p.m.,  Marshall Auditorium
 
  • Late registration and schedule changes begin
 
  • Residence Halls: 5 p.m. deadline to Move-In for Fall housing assignment
   
August 28, Tuesday
  • Last day for students to register in Education block courses
   
August 29, Wednesday
  • Provost contacts Faculty Affairs Council Chair about the number of promotions available
   
August 30, Thursday
  • Last day for late registration and schedule changes
   

September 3, Monday

  • Labor Day holiday, no classes
   
September 4, Tuesday
  • Last day to drop 1st 8 week course without creating an academic record
 
  • Curriculum Change Request form- Faculty member to Department Chair
   
September 12, Wednesday
  • Twelfth class day, 16 week term
 
  • Last day to drop a 16 week term course without creating an academic record
   
September 17, Monday
  • Curriculum Change Request form- Department Chair to Dean
 
  • Spring and Mid-Winter schedules due to Deans
   
September 21, Friday
  • Last day for students enrolled in Education block courses to drop a course and receive a 'W'
   
September 24, Monday
  • Curriculum Change Request form - Dean to Curriculum Council Chair
   
September 27, Thursday 
  • University as a Community Meal on the Mall (Lawrence Sullivan Ross's birthday)
   
September 28, Friday
  • Last day for students enrolled in 1st 8 week courses to drop a course and receive a 'W'
   
October 1-31
  • Curriculum Change Request form- Curriculum Council Review
   
October 3, Wednesday
  • Spring & Mid-Winter schedules due to the Univesity Registrar
   
October 12, Friday
  • Tenure and promotion review:  Vitae and dossier to Department Chair.  Dossier to be forwarded to departmental evaluation committee.
   
October 19, Friday
  • Final exams, 1st 8 week term
   
October 22, Monday
  • Final grades for 1st 8 week term students submitted by noon
 
  • Mid-term, 16 week term
 
  • Classes begin, 2nd 8 week term
   
October 24, Wednesday
  • Last day for schedule changes, 2nd 8 week term
   
October 29, Monday
  • Last day to drop 2nd 8 week course without creating an academic record
   
November 9, Friday
  • Tenure and promotion review:  Forward applications for promotion from the chairperson to the Dean
 
  • Summer class schedules due to the Dean
   
November 12, Monday
  • Curriculum Change Request form - Curriculum Council Report to Faculty Assembly
 
  • Last day for instructor initiated drop for excessive absences.  Must reach the Provost's office by Monday, November 12
   
November 15-16, Thursday & Friday
  • Texas State University System Board of Regents meeting at Sam Houston State, Huntsville, TX. 
   
November 16, Friday
  • Last day to withdraw from the 16 week course/term with a grade of 'W'.  Drops must be processed and in the Registrar's Office by 4 p.m.
 
  • Last day to apply for May graduation without a late fee
 
  • Curriculum Change Request form - Curriculum Council approved documents to the Provost
   
November 19, Monday
  • Academic Evaluation:  Completion of the Student Appraisal of the Faculty (Form FE-2) for Fall 2018 (to be completed 11/19-12/06)
   
November 21-23, Wednesday - Friday
  • Thanksgiving Day holiday (Begins after the last scheduled class meets on Tuesday, November 20)
   
November 26, Monday
  • Last day for students enrolled in 2nd 8 week courses to drop a course and receive a 'W'
   
November 30, Friday
  • Summer class schedules due to the University Registrar
 
  • Dean/Director to submit recommendation for Associate Graduate Faculty to Graduate Dean and Executive Vice President and Provost for Academic Affairs
   
December 2018
  • Curriculum Change Request form - Provost to the President
   
December 5, Wednesday       
  • Last class day before finals, 16 week term
 
  • Second year non-tenured faculty to be notified if appointment will expire by end of current year
   
December 6, Thursday 
  • Dead Day, 16 week term
   
December 7, 10-12, Friday, Monday-Wednesday
  • Final Examinations, end of term, 16 week term
   
December 12, Wednesday
  • Final Examinations, end of term, 2nd 8 week term
   
December 13, Thursday
  • Final grades for graduating students due; grades must be submitted by noon
 
  • Tenure and promotion review:  Application, dossier and recommendations from the Dean to the College Review Committee
   
December 14, Friday
  • Fall Commencement, Pete P. Gallego Center, 7 p.m. 
 
  • Residence Halls: Close at noon for all non-graduates or extended residents
   
December 15, Saturday
  • Residence Halls: Close at noon for all residents; except Director approvals
   
December 17, Monday
  • Final grades for continuing students due; grades must be submitted by noon
   

SPRING 2019

January 3-17
  • Mid-Winter Semester
   
January 18, Friday
  • Payment deadline for students who pre-registered, 4 p.m.
 
  • Residence Halls: New Resident Move-In, 10 a.m-4 p.m.
 
  • Last day for students to register in Education block courses
 
  • Lobo Days for new and transfer students
   
January 19-20, Saturday & Sunday
  • Lobo Days for new and transfer students
 
  • Residence Halls: Move-In 10 a.m.-4 p.m.
   
January 21, Monday
  • Martin Luther King, Jr. holiday
 
  • Regular registration ends
   
January 22, Tuesday
  • First day of classes, 16 week and 1st 8 week term
 
  • College and departmental meetings TBA by college/departments
 
  • Faculty Meeting, 4 p.m.
 
  • Late registration and schedule changes begin
 
  • Residence Halls: 5 p.m. deadline to Move-In for Spring housing assignment
   
January 25, Friday
  • Last day for late registration and schedule changes
   
January 29, Tuesday
  • Last day to drop 1st 8 week course without creating an academic record
   
February 2019
  • Curriculum Changes - President to TSUS Board of Regents Meeting
   
February 1, Friday
  • Last day for students enrolled in Education block courses to drop a course and receive a 'W'
 
  • Academic Evaluation:  Annual Report of Teaching/Job Performance, Scholarly/Artistic Activities; Form FE-3 submitted to Chairs
   
February 5, Tuesday
  •  Fall class schedules due to Deans
   
February 6, Wednesday
  • Twelfth class day,16 week term
 
  • Last day to drop a 16 week term course without creating an academic record
   
February 7-8, Thursday & Friday
  • Texas State University System Board of Regents meeting in Austin, TX
   
February 15, Friday
  • Annual Report on Teaching/Job Performance; Form FE-3 submitted to the Deans
 
  • Tenure/Promotion applications from Dean and from College Review Committee to Faculty Affairs Council
 
  •  Fall class schedules due to the University Registrar
   
February 22, Friday
  • Last day for students enrolled in 1st 8 week courses to drop a course and receive a 'W'
   
March 2019
  • Curriculum Changes:  Approved Changes to THECB; Records and Registration implements changes into Banner; Changes effective Fall 2019.
   
March 15, Friday
  • Tenure/Promotion applications from Faculty Affairs Council to Executive Vice President and Provost for Academic Affairs
 
  • Annual Report on Teaching/Job Performance; submitted to the Executive Vice President and Provost for Academic Affairs
 
  • Final exams, 1st 8 week term
   
March 18-22, Monday - Friday
  • Spring Break.  No Classes.  Energy Conservation days March 20-21; holiday March 22
   
March 25, Monday
  • Final grades for 1st 8 week term students submitted by noon
 
  • Classes begin, 2nd eight week term
 
  • Mid Semester, 16 week term 
   
March 28, Wednesday
  • Last day to add a 2nd eight week course
   
March 29, Friday
  • Tenure/Promotion applications from the Executive Vice President and Provost for Academic Affairs to the President (Board recommendations to the Board of Regents at the May meeting)
   
April 1, Monday
  • Last day to drop 2nd 8 week course without creating an academic record
   
April 4, Thursday
  • University as a Community Meal on the Mall
   
April 8, Monday
  • Last day for instructor initiated drop for excessive absences.  Must reach the Provost's office by Monday, April 8 by 4 p.m.
   
April 12, Friday
  • Last day to withdraw from the 16 week course/term with grade of 'W'. Drops must be processed and in the Registrar's Office by 4 p.m.
 
  • Last day to apply for August graduation without a late fee
 
  • Last day to apply for December graduation without a late fee
   
April 15, Monday
  • Academic Evaluation: Completion of Student Appraisal of Faculty (Form FE-2) for Spring (to be completed 4/08-4/22)
   
April 19, Friday
  • Good Friday Holiday
   
April 22, Monday
  • Honors Convocation, Marshall Auditorium, 7:00pm
   
April 29, Monday
  • Last day for students enrolled in 2nd 8 week courses to drop a course and receive a 'W'
   
May 8, Wednesday
  • Last class day before finals, 16 week term
   
May 9, Thursday 
  • Dead Day, 16 week term
   
May 10, 13-15, Friday, Monday - Wednesday
  • Final Examinations - end of term, 16 week term
   
May 15, Wednesday
  • Final Examinations - end of term, 2nd 8 week term
   
May 16, Thursday
  • Final grades for graduating students due; grades must be submitted by noon
   
May 17, Friday
  • Spring Commencement, Pete P. Gallego Center, 7 p.m. 
 
  • Residence Halls: Close at noon for non-graduates or extended residents
   
May 18, Saturday
  • Residence Halls: Close at noon for everyone except director approvals
   
May 20, Monday
  • Final grades for continuing students due; grades must be submitted by noon
   
May 23-24, Thursday & Friday
  • Texas State University Board of Regents meeting in San Marcos, TX
   

SUMMER I 2019

May 28, Tuesday
  • Residence Halls: Summer I students check in to residential halls
 
  • Last day to register without a late fee
   
May 29, Wednesday
  • First day of classes
 
  • Late registration begins
 
  • Schedule changes begin
   
May 31, Friday
  • Last day for late registration and schedule changes begin
   
June 3, Monday
  • Fourth class day
 
  • Last day to register for Shortened Format courses
   
June 5, Wednesday
  • Shortened Format classes begin
   
June 14, Friday
  • Last day for instructor initiated drop for excessive absences.  Must reach the Provost's office by June 14 at 4 p.m.
   
June 17, Monday
  • Mid-term
   
June 20, Thursday
  • Last day to drop a course with a 'W'. Drops must be processed and in the Registrar's Office by 4 p.m.
   
July 4, Thursday
  • Fourth of July holiday
   
July 5, Friday
  • Final Examinations, end of term
 
  • Summer I students check out of residential halls, by noon
   
July 8, Monday
  • Final grades are due; grades must be submitted by noon
   

SUMMER II 2019

July 8, Monday
  • Summer II students check in to residental halls
 
  • Last day to register without a late fee
   
July 9, Tuesday
  • First day of classes
 
  • Late registration begins
 
  • Schedule changes begin
   
July 11, Thursday
  • Last day for late registration and schedule changes
   
July 12, Friday
  • Fourth class day
 
  • Last day to register for Shortened Format courses
   
July 26, Friday
  • Mid-term
 
  • Last day for instructor initiated drop for excessive absences.  Must reach the Provost's office by July 26 by 4 p.m.
   
August 1, Thursday
  • Last day to drop a course with a 'W'. Drops must be processed and in the Registrar's Office by 4 p.m.
   
August 15, Thursday
  • Final Examinations, end of term
   
August 16, Friday
  • Final grades for graduating students due; grades must be submitted by noon
 
  • Summer II students check out of residential halls, by noon
   
August 19, Monday
  • Final grades are due; grades must be submitted by noon
   
August 22-23, Thursday & Friday
  • Texas State University System Board of Regents meeting in Alpine, TX