Pi Sigma Alpha

Pi Sigma Alpha is the national Political Science Honor Society, founded in 1920. Pi Sigma Alpha has over 730 chapters. Distinguished political science students at Sul Ross State University are invited to join the Omicron Phi Chapter of Pi Sigma Alpha. Upon their induction, members of the honor society receive a certificate of membership, a lapel pin, and an honor cord to be worn at graduation, along with many other benefits. Membership requires a $40 fee.

Why Join Pi Sigma?

To be eligible for membership, students must be the following requirements:

  • Students must be juniors, seniors, or graduate students currently enrolled in the political science program.

  • Undergraduate students must be at least juniors who have completed at least twelve semester credit hours of undergraduate political science course work, including at least one upper-division course, with a GPA of 3.0 or higher in those courses.

  • Graduate students must have completed at least nine semester credit hours of graduate political science course work, in pursuit of a political science degree, with a GPA of 3.0 or higher in those courses.

Eligible students are invited to apply in the Spring of each year.

2014-2015 Inductees

  • Billy Ray Cruz

  • Denise Mercado

  • Karina Rodriguez

  • Anna Sandoval

  • Jonathan Scheibler

  • Stefan Speck

  • Yancarlo Villa

  • Danie Vaughn

2013-2014 Inductees

  • Lawrence Beah

  • Stephanie Dominguez

  • Leah Farnsworth

  • Matthew Lange

  • Jacky Zoida

2012-2013 Inductees

  • Sara Ameen

  • Gloria Brownell

  • Aaron Razo

  • Jacquelynn Tippit

  • Laura Karina Villaseñor

2011-2012 Inductees

  • Mark A. Bradford

  • Johnathon P. Cruz

  • Gregory A. Gonzales

  • Angela M. Greenroy

  • Jennifer J. Ritchey

  • Maria V. Terrazas

  • Jesus H. Villa

2010-2011 Inductees

  • Marcos Antonio Carranco

  • Anna Marie Kreger

  • Michael R. Lynch

  • Amanda Orozco

  • John Allen Quisenberry

  • Amanda D. Tilley