Sul Ross State University

Authorized by the Texas Legislature in 1917, Sul Ross Normal College opened its doors in 1920. Over the years, the Legislature broadened the institution’s scope and changed its name, in succession, to Teachers College, College, and in 1969 to Sul Ross State University.

Each name reflects the university’s growth from a small teacher preparation institution to a major, multipurpose university. Along with the Sul Ross State University Rio Grande Colleges in Uvalde, Del Rio and Eagle Pass, Sul Ross offers over 25 undergraduate major fields and 27 graduate fields. Join us as we celebrate over 90 years in bringing higher education to the Big Bend of West Texas.