Welcome to ACE!

The Academic Center for Excellence (ACE) offers numerous academic support programs. The Center’s committed faculty members teach developmental education courses in reading, writing, and mathematics.  Academic Enhancement Seminars offer study skills workshops to students. Students up for an academic challenge should check out the SRSU Honors Program.

Organizationally, ACE is based in the School of Arts and Sciences.

Academic Center for Excellence Staff

Name

Faculty

Email

Director

Dr. Kathy Stein, Ed.D., Director for the Academic Center for Excellence & Professor of English, FH 214B, ext. 8770

kstein@sulross.edu

Administrative Assistant

Anita Banegas FH 214, ext. 8408

abanegas@sulross.edu

Academic Lecturers

Name

Faculty

Email

Elba Lamar

M.S. Lecturer in Mathematics, FH 210, ext. 8725

elba.lamar@sulross.edu

Chris Garcia

M.A. Lecturer in Reading, FH 208, ext. 8338

cgarcia@sulross.edu

Alex Hardison

B.S. Lecturer in Mathematics, FH 202, ext. 8119

ahardison@sulross.edu

Cynthia McAlister

M.S. Lecturer in Mathematics, FH 206, ext. 8522

cmca849@sulross.edu

Richard Mrozinski

M.S. Lecturer in Mathematics, FH 209, ext. 8408

richard.mrozinski@sulross.edu

Julie Vega

M.A. Lecturer in English and Writing, FH 212, ext. 8771

jvega@sulross.edu

Lobo Den

Name

Faculty

Email

Amy Fields, Lobo Den Director

BWML 135, ext. 8816

Amy.fields@sulross.edu

Emily Garcia, Academic Advisor and Retention Specialist

BWML 124, ext. 8059

Eeg14hu@sulross.edu

Mabel Herrera, Academic Advisor and Retention Specialist

BWML 123, ext. 8629

mag215bf@sulross.edu

Anita Banegas, Administrative Assistant

BWML 125, ext. 8982

Abanegas@sulross.edu

Tutoring Center

Name

Faculty

Email

Mabel Herrera, Academic Advisor and Retention Specialist

BMWL 123, ext. 8629

mag215bf@sulross.edu

Academic Center for Excellence

    • Academic Affairs
    • BMWL 125
    • Alpine, TX 79832
    • 432-837-8982