Academic Calendar for Students

The following calendar is adapted from the official Academic Calendar, and omits events and dates not specific to students.

Fall 2020
Spring 2021

 

Fall 2020

Date Event
August 21, Friday Payment deadline for students who pre-registered, 4 p.m.
  Residence Halls: Move-In day, 10 a.m-4 p.m. by housing assignment
  New student orientation for new and transfer students; 4 p.m. on the Fountain Mall
August 22, Saturday Residence Halls: Move-In day
  Camp Brand 'Em for new and transfer students
August 23, Sunday Residence Halls: Move-In day
  Regular registration ends
  New Student Convocation, 7 p.m. Marshall Auditorium CANCELLED
August 24, Monday Newcomer's Luncheon, 12:00 p.m.
  First day of classes, 16 week and 1st 8 week term
  Late registration and schedule changes begin
  Residence Halls: 5 p.m. deadline to Move-In for Fall housing assignment
August 25, Tuesday Last day for students to register in Education block courses
August 27, Thursday Last day for late registration and schedule changes
August 28, Friday Submit thesis to committee chair 
September 1, Tuesday Last day to drop 1st 8 week course without creating an academic record
September 7, Monday Labor Day holiday, no classes
September 9, Wednesday Twelfth class day, 16 week term
  Last day to drop a 16 week term course without creating an academic record
September 18, Friday Last day for students enrolled in Education block courses to drop a course and receive a 'W'
  Submit thesis to committee members
  Last day to apply for December graduation without a late fee (Del Rio, Eagle Pass and Uvalde campuses only)
September 25, Friday  University as a Community Meal on the Mall (Lawrence Sullivan Ross's birthday is September 27, Sunday, celebrate September 25, Friday)
  Last day for students enrolled in 1st 8 week courses to drop a course and receive a 'W'
October 16, Friday Final exams, 1st 8 week term
October 19, Monday Final grades for 1st 8 week term students submitted by noon
  Mid-term, 16 week term
  Classes begin, 2nd 8 week term
October 21, Wednesday Last day for schedule changes, 2nd 8 week term
October 26, Monday Last day to drop 2nd 8 week course without creating an academic record
October 30, Friday Submit signed hard copy and electronic copy of thesis to the Thesis Coordinator in the College of Graduate Studies
November 11, Wednesday Veterans Day holiday
November 13, Friday Last day to withdraw from the 16 week course/term with a grade of 'W'. Drops must be processed and in the University Registrar's office by 4 p.m.
  Last day to apply for May graduation without a late fee
November 20, Friday Submit electronic copy of the revised thesis to the Thesis Coordinator in the College of Graduate Studies for final approval
November 23, Monday Last day for students enrolled in 2nd 8 week courses to drop a course and receive a 'W'
November 25-27, Wednesday - Friday Thanksgiving Day holiday (Begins after the last scheduled class meets on Tuesday, November 24)
November 27, Friday Submit PDF copy of thesis to ProQuest for review and online submission
November 30, Monday Remainder of courses will be delivered remotely (no face to face classes)
December 2, Wednesday        Last class day before finals, 16 week term
December 3, Thursday  Dead Day, 16 week term
December 4, 7-9, Friday, Monday-Wednesday Final Examinations, end of term, 16 week term - REMOTE DELIVERY
December 9, Wednesday Final Examinations, end of term, 2nd 8 week term - REMOTE DELIVERY
December 10, Thursday Final grades for graduating students due; grades must be submitted by noon
December 11, Friday Fall Commencement, Pete P. Gallego Center, 7 p.m. (TBD)
  Residence Halls: Close at noon for all non-graduates or extended residents
December 12, Saturday Residence Halls: Close at noon for all residents; except director approvals
  Fall Commencement International Center for Trade, Eagle Pass, TX., 3:30 pm (TBD)
December 14, Monday Final grades for continuing students due; grades must be submitted by noon

 

Spring 2021

 

Date Event
January 8, Friday Payment deadline for students who pre-registered, 4 p.m.
  Residence Halls: New resident Move-In, 10 a.m-4 p.m.
  Last day for students to register in Education block courses
   
January 9-10, Saturday & Sunday Residence Halls: Move-In 10 a.m.-4 p.m.
   
January 10, Sunday Regular registration ends
   
January 11, Monday First day of classes, 16 week and 1st 8 week term  
  Late registration and schedule changes begin
  Residence Halls: 5 p.m. deadline to Move-In for spring housing assignment
   
January 14, Thursday Last day for late registration and schedule changes
   
January 18, Monday Martin Luther King, Jr. holiday (no classes)
   
January 19, Tuesday Last day to drop 1st 8 week course without creating an academic record
   
January 22, Friday Submit thesis to committee chair
   
January 27, Wednesday Twelfth class day, 16 week term
  Last day to drop a 16 week term course without creating an academic record
   
February 4, Thursday Last day for students enrolled in Education block courses to drop a course and receive a 'W'
   
February 12, Friday Last day for students enrolled in 1st 8 week courses to drop a course and receive a 'W'
  Submit thesis to committee members
   
March 5, Friday Final exams, 1st 8 week term
   
March 8-12, Monday - Friday Spring Break.  No Classes. 
   
March 15, Monday Final grades for 1st 8 week term students submitted by noon
  Mid Semester, 16 week term 
  Classes begin, 2nd eight week term
   
March 17, Wednesday Last day for schedule changes, 2nd eight week term 
   
March 22, Monday Last day to drop 2nd 8 week course without creating an academic record
   
March 26, Friday Submit signed hard copy and electronic copy of thesis to the Thesis Coordinator in the College of Graduate Studies
   
April 1, Thursday University/Community Meal on the Mall (SRSU Birthday April 3, Saturday, celebrate April 1, Thursday)
  Last day to withdraw from the 16 week course/term with grade of 'W'. Drops must be processed and in the University Registrar's Office by 4 p.m.
  Last day to apply for August graduation without a late fee
  Last day to apply for December graduation without a late fee
   
April 2, Friday Good Friday holiday (no classes)
   
April 12, Monday Last day for students enrolled in 2nd 8 week courses to drop a course and receive a 'W'
   
April 16, Thursday Submit electronic copy of revised thesis to the Thesis Coordinator in the College of Graduate Studies
   
April 19, Monday Honors Convocation, 7 p.m., Marshall Auditorium
   
April 23, Friday Submit PDF copy of the thesis to ProQuest for review and online submission
   
April 28, Wednesday Last class day before finals, 16 week term
   
April 29, Thursday  Dead day, 16 week term
   
April 30, May 3-5, Friday, Monday - Wednesday Final Examinations - end of term, 16 week term
   
May 5, Wednesday Final Examinations - end of term, 2nd 8 week term
   
May 6, Thursday Final grades for graduating students due; grades must be submitted by noon
   
May 7, Friday Spring Commencement, Pete P. Gallego Center, 7 p.m. 
  Residence Halls: Close at noon for non-graduates or extended residents
   
May 8, Saturday Residence Halls: Close at noon for everyone except director approvals
  Spring Commencement Del Rio Civic Center, Del Rio, TX, 3:30 p.m.
   
May 10, Monday Final grades for continuing students due; grades must be submitted by noon