Academic Calendar for Students (Alpine)

The following calendar is adapted from the official Academic Calendar, and omits events and dates not specific to students.

Fall 2019

Date Event
August 26, Monday First day of classes, 16 week and 1st 8 week term
  Late registration and schedule changes begin
August 27, Tuesday Last day for students to register in Education block courses
August 29, Thursday Last day for late registration and schedule changes
September 2, Monday Labor Day holiday, no classes
September 3, Tuesday Last day to drop 1st 8 week course without creating an academic record
September 11, Wednesday Twelfth class day, 16 week term
  Last day to drop a 16 week term course without creating an academic record
September 20, Friday Last day for students enrolled in Education block courses to drop a course and receive a 'W'
September 27, Friday University as a Community Meal on the Mall (Lawrence Sullivan Ross's birthday)
  Last day for students enrolled in 1st 8 week courses to drop a course and receive a 'W'
October 18, Friday Final exams, 1st 8 week term
October 21, Monday Final grades for 1st 8 week term students submitted by noon
  Mid-term, 16 week term
  Classes begin, 2nd 8 week term
October 23, Wednesday Last day for schedule changes, 2nd 8 week term
October 28, Monday Last day to drop 2nd 8 week course without creating an academic record
November 11, Monday Veterans Day holiday, no classes
November 15, Friday Last day to withdraw from the 16 week course/term with a grade of 'W'. Drops must be processed and in the University Registrar's office by 4 p.m.
  Last day to apply for May graduation without a late fee
November 25, Monday Last day for students enrolled in 2nd 8 week courses to drop a course and receive a 'W'
November 27-29, Wednesday - Friday Thanksgiving Day holiday (Begins after the last scheduled class meets on Tuesday, November 26)
December 4, Wednesday Last class day before finals, 16 week term
December 5, Thursday Dead Day, 16 week term
December 6, 9-11, Friday, Monday-Wednesday Final Examinations, end of term, 16 week term
December 11, Wednesday Final Examinations, end of term, 2nd 8 week term
December 12, Thursday Final grades for graduating students due; grades must be submitted by noon
December 13, Friday Fall Commencement Sul Ross - Alpine Campus, Pete P. Gallego Center, 7 p.m.
  Residence Halls: Close at noon for all non-graduates or extended residents
December 14, Saturday Residence Halls: Close at noon for all residents; except director approvals
  Fall Commencement Sul Ross - Uvalde Campus, John H. Harrell Auditorium, 7:30 p.m.
December 16, Monday Final grades for continuing students due; grades must be submitted by noon

Spring 2020

 

Date Event
January 10, Friday Payment deadline for students who pre-registered, 4 p.m.
  Residence Halls: New resident Move-In, 10 a.m-4 p.m.
  Last day for students to register in Education block courses
  Lobo Days for new and transfer students
January 11-12, Saturday & Sunday Lobo Days for new and transfer students
  Residence Halls: Move-In 10 a.m.-4 p.m.
January 12, Sunday Regular registration ends
January 13, Monday First day of classes, 16 week and 1st 8 week term
  Late registration and schedule changes begin
  Residence Halls: 5 p.m. deadline to Move-In for Spring housing assignment
January 16, Thursday Last day for late registration and schedule changes
January 20, Monday Martin Luther King, Jr. holiday
January 21, Tuesday Last day to drop 1st 8 week course without creating an academic record
January 29, Wednesday Twelfth class day, 16 week term
  Last day to drop a 16 week term course without creating an academic record
February 6, Thursday Last day for students enrolled in Education block courses to drop a course and receive a 'W'
February 14, Friday Last day for students enrolled in 1st 8 week courses to drop a course and receive a 'W'
March 6, Friday Final exams, 1st 8 week term
March 9-13, Monday - Friday Spring Break. No Classes.
March 16, Monday Final grades for 1st 8 week term students submitted by noon
  Mid Semester, 16 week term
  Classes begin, 2nd eight week term
March 18, Wednesday Last day for schedule changes, 2nd eight week term
March 23, Monday Last day to drop 2nd 8 week course without creating an academic record
April 3, Friday SRSU Birthday - University/Community Meal on the Mall
  Last day to withdraw from the 16 week course/term with grade of 'W'. Drops must be processed and in the University Registrar's Office by 4 p.m.
  Last day to apply for August graduation without a late fee
  Last day to apply for December graduation without a late fee
April 10, Friday Good Friday holiday
April 13, Monday Last day for students enrolled in 2nd 8 week courses to drop a course and receive a 'W'
April 20, Monday Honors Convocation, 7 p.m., Marshall Auditorium
April 29, Wednesday Last class day before finals, 16 week term
April 30, Thursday Dead day, 16 week term
May 1, 4-6, Friday, Monday - Wednesday Final Examinations - end of term, 16 week term
May 6, Wednesday Final Examinations - end of term, 2nd 8 week term
May 7, Thursday Final grades for graduating students due; grades must be submitted by noon
May 8, Friday Spring Commencement Sul Ross - Alpine Campus, Pete P. Gallego Center, 7 p.m.
  Residence Halls: Close at noon for non-graduates or extended residents
May 9, Saturday Residence Halls: Close at noon for everyone except director approvals
  Spring Commencement Sul Ross - Eagle Pass Campus, International Center for Trade, 7:30 p.m.
May 11, Monday Final grades for continuing students due; grades must be submitted by noon

Summer I

Date Event
May 19, Tuesday Residence Halls: Summer I students check in to residential halls
  Last day to register without a late fee
May 20, Wednesday First day of classes
  Late registration and schedule changes begins
May 22, Friday Last day for late registration and schedule changes
May 25, Monday Memorial Day holiday, no classes
May 26, Tuesday Fourth class day
  Last day to register for Shortened Format courses
May 28, Thursday Shortened Format classes begin
June 9, Tuesday Mid-term
June 12, Friday Last day to drop a course with a 'W'. Drops must be processed and in the University Registrar's office by 4 p.m.
June 26, Friday Final Examinations, end of term
  Summer I students check out of residential halls, by noon
June 29, Monday Final grades are due; grades must be submitted by noon

Summer II

Date Event
June 30, Tuesday Summer II students check in to residental halls
  Last day to register without a late fee
July 1, Wednesday First day of classes
  Late registration and schedule changes begins
  Schedule changes begin
July 3, Friday Last day for late registration and schedule changes
July 6, Monday Fourth class day
  Last day to register for Shortened Format courses
July 21, Tuesday Mid-term
July 24, Friday Last day to drop a course with a 'W'. Drops must be processed and in the University Registrar's office by 4 p.m.
August 7, Friday Final Examinations, end of term
August 8, Saturday Summer II students check out of residential halls, by noon
August 10, Monday Final grades for graduating students due; grades must be submitted by noon
August 11, Tuesday Final grades for continuing students due; grades must be submitted by noon